Pelican Valley Senior Living
211 E. Mill Ave.
Pelican Rapids, MN 56572
(218) 863-2991

Board Members



Affidavits of Candidacy may be filed between 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday, July 31, 2018, and Tuesday, August 14, 2018, for Hospital District Board Office in the regular township and city elections to be held Tuesday, November 6, 2018.

Up for election are four (4) year terms for Lida Towship, Scambler Township, City of Pelican Rapids, Maplewood Township, Member at Large, term ending 12/31/2022. The terms begin January 1st following election to the Board.

All candidates must file an affidavit of candidacy with their city or township clerk during the filing period.

David Slotten

Hospital District Clerk



As part of the Hospital District, our facility is governed by a board of directors. This board is made up of representatives who are elected by their townships. The following townships are part of the Pelican Valley Hospital District:

  • City of Pelican Rapids
  • Pelican Township
  • Norwegian Grove Township
  • Maplewood Township
  • Erhards Grove Township
  • Scambler Township
  • Dunn Township
  • Lida Township
  • City of Erhard
  • Member at large position

Board meetings are held on the fourth Monday of the month at 6:15pm in the upstairs conference room of Pelican Valley Care Center. Each elected member serves a four year term. Our board of directors consists of the following members:

Chairman Rich Bratlien
City of Erhard
Term began: 2/23/1998
Term expires: 12/31/2020

Vice Chairman Mary Williams
City of Pelican Rapids
Term began: 2/27/2017
Term Expires: 12/31/2018

Secretary David Slotten
Dunn Township
Term began: 4/25/2011
Term Expires: 12/31/2020

Treasurer Sue Bruggeman
Lida Township
Term began: 4/22/2002
Term Expires: 12/31/2018

John Waller
Pelican Township
Term began: 3/24/2014
Term Expires: 12/31/2020

 Shannon Erickson
Director at Large
Term began: 1/1/2007
Term expires: 12/31/2018

Mark Sjostrom
Erhards Grove Township
Term began: 1/01/2018
Term Expires: 12/31/2020

Les Rotz
Scambler Township
Term began: 2/25/2013
Term Expires: 12/31/2018

Brian Evenson
Maplewood Township
Term began: 3/23/2015
Term Expires: 12/31/2018

Bradley Knorr
Norwegian Grove Township
Term began: 1/28/2013
Term Expires:12/31/2020